Founded in 1989, the AAHC is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization governed by a Board of Directors and managed by the President and CEO, Corliss McKeever, MSW.

The African American Health Coalition began as an alliance of individuals, agencies, and organizations working together to address the health issues faced by African Americans in Portland, Oregon.

The work of the AAHC is undertaken with the firm belief that promoting and improving health among African Americans is best achieved through interventions that build capacity, and that strengthen, empower, and sustain healthy lifestyles among African Americans.

Our Staff

Corliss McKeever, MSW
Corliss McKeever, MSWPresident and Chief Executive Officer
Corliss McKeever, MSW is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the African American Health Coalition, Inc. (AAHC) a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting and improving wellness among African Americans in Portland, Oregon through health education, advocacy, and research. The AAHC serves as one of the primary advocates for improving the health of the African American population in Oregon and is the only community-based organization that focuses exclusively on black health.
Read More
Sandra Meucci, Phd
Sandra Meucci, PhdInternal Program Evaluator
Sandra Meucci, Ph.D. Internal Evaluator for AAHC, is a Sociologist with extensive experience in qualitative research and program evaluation. While her academic work focuses on race, policy and social movements her community work focuses on the design and evaluation of innovative policies and programs that affect community health and well-being. Her particular emphasis is on participatory approaches with people whose voices are rarely heard and in piloting research-based models of services and disseminating the results so that these models are replicated.

The African American Health Coalition’s numerous awards include:

  • Community Partner of Excellence in 2008
  • Spirit of Portland award for “Non-Profit of the Year in 2006″
  • The Skanner: Rev. John H. Jackson Award in 2005
  • The “Crystal Award” for efficient program spending in 2003

Board of Directors

Steven Bullock, M.B.A. – Chair
Anna Black, M.S.W., L.C.S.W., Ex Officio
Stephanie Anderson, M.D.
Edwin Akwenuke, CPC, QPA
Colin Andries